[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Atlantis and Astronauts are Sealed Tight, Ready for Flight



SUBMITTED BY ARTHUR N1ORC - AMSAT A/C #31468

*Atlantis and Astronauts are Sealed Tight, Ready for Flight*

/ Sept. 9, 9:10 a.m. EDT  (1310 UTC)/
The hatch into Atlantis' crew cabin has been sealed for flight following 
the strapping in of all six STS-115 astronauts inside the ship. 
Commander Brent Jett and his crew are now setting switches and bringing 
the orbiter's systems online as the countdown to an
11:15 a.m EDT (1515 UTC) launch ticks on.

Today's weather around Kennedy Space Center is nicely suited for a space 
shuttle launch. The current temperature is approaching 80 degrees, with 
light winds and only a few scattered clouds dotting the sky.

Follow our live coverage today!
+ NASA's Launch Blog 
<http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/shuttle/launch/sts-115/launch-vlcc.html>
+ NASA TV <http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html>
----
Sent via sarex@amsat.org. Opinions expressed are those of the author.
Not an AMSAT member? Join now to support the amateur satellite program!
Subscription settings: http://amsat.org/mailman/listinfo/sarex



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home