[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Atlantis' Crew Fuels for Flight



SUBMITTED BY ARTHUR  N1ORC - AMSAT A/C #31468

*Atlantis' Crew Fuels for Flight*

/ Sept. 9, 6:00 a.m. EDT (1000 UTC)/
The STS-115 astronauts are currently eating their traditional launch-day 
breakfast in the crew quarters, located in the Kennedy Space Center's 
Operations and Checkout Building. After some final checks and a weather 
briefing, the crew will begin the process of "suiting up" in the 
familiar bright orange launch and entry suits. Following suit-up, the 
crew will hop into the silvery Astrovan for a 20-minute ride to the 
launch pad.

Meanwhile, out at the launch pad liftoff preparations are going 
smoothly. Atlantis' external tank is now pumped full of propellants and 
its sensor systems continue to function normally. The countdown 
continues to tick away to a launch time of 11:15 a.m. EDT.(1515 UTC)

Follow our live coverage today!
+ NASA's Launch Blog 
<http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/shuttle/launch/sts-115/launch-vlcc.html>
+ NASA TV <http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html>
----
Sent via sarex@amsat.org. Opinions expressed are those of the author.
Not an AMSAT member? Join now to support the amateur satellite program!
Subscription settings: http://amsat.org/mailman/listinfo/sarex



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home