[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 STATUS - 28 FEBRUARY 2005



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

Next space shuttle launch

The current planning window for the launch of Space Shuttle Discovery on 
STS-114 for Space Station Utilization Logistics Flight 1 (ULF1) from 
Kennedy Space Center, Fla., is sometime between May 15 and June 3. If it 
happens on May 15, liftoff is at 3:50 p.m.

* Progress 17 Cargo Ship Launches, Heads to Station*
A Russian cargo ship blasted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazkhstan 
at 1:09 p.m. CST (1909 GMT) Monday and is en route to the International 
Space Station. The spacecraft, ISS Progress 17, will dock with the aft 
end of the Station's Zvezda Service Module at 2:15 p.m. CST (2015 GMT) 
Wednesday.

The Progress is loaded with 4,631 pounds (2,100 kilograms) of cargo for 
the Station, including food, supplies, fuel, oxygen, air and water. The 
Progress' cargo also includes cameras and lenses that will be used to 
photograph the thermal protection tiles of Space Shuttle Discovery as 
the Return to Flight mission approaches the Station in May or June.

Progress 17 will attach to the docking port previously occupied by the 
ISS Progress 16 spacecraft. Progress 16 was commanded to undock Sunday 
to clear the way for Progress 17. Progress 16, which is filled with 
trash and other unneeded Station items will orbit the Earth for 10 day 
before being commanded to re-enter the atmosphere to burn up harmlessly 
over the Pacific Ocean.

International Space Station Status Report No. 9 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2005/iss05-9.html>.

*Expedition 10 Mission Status Briefing Materials* 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp10/brief_2-17-05/index.html>* 
*(Feb. 17, 2005)
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home