[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 STATUS - 1 DECEMBER 2004



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 10 Opens Hatches to Progress*
Aboard the International Space Station, Expedition 10 Commander Leroy 
Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov reopened the hatches 
Wednesday to the ISS Progress 15 cargo ship. The hatches were closed 
prior to Monday's Soyuz relocation maneuver. They also enjoyed more 
off-duty time Wednesday. They are scheduled to return to a full workload 
Thursday.

During Monday's relocation, the Expedition 10 crew, undocked the Russian 
ISS Soyuz 9 spacecraft from the Stationís Pirs Docking Compartment and 
redocked the Soyuz to the Earthward-facing port on the Zarya Control 
Module. The relocation of the Soyuz allows Chiao and Sharipov to use 
Pirs as the airlock for their two spacewalks. They will install science 
experiments and hardware on the outside of the ISS. They will also 
prepare the Space Station for the arrival of the Automated Transfer Vehicle.

Also this week, Russian officials announced new dates for the launch and 
docking of the ISS Progress 16 spacecraft. The Progress will launch from 
Kazakhstan on Dec. 23 at 4:19 p.m. CST (2219 GMT) and arrive at the ISS 
at 6:05 p.m. CST Dec. 25 (0005 GMT Dec. 26). The cargo ship currently 
attached the Station, Progress 15, is slated to undock Dec. 22 at 1:34 
p.m. CST (1934 GMT).

International Space Station Status Report No. 64 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-64.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home