[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

ISS STATUS 30 NOVEMBER 2004



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Station Crew Rests Following Soyuz Relocation*
One day after successfully relocating a Soyuz spacecraft, Expedition 10 
Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov enjoyed 
light duty aboard the International Space Station.

Chiao and Sharipov left the Station unoccupied as they flew aboard the 
ISS Soyuz 9 spacecraft Monday. Sharipov, who served as the Soyuz 
commander, undocked the Russian spacecraft from the Stationís Pirs 
Docking Compartment at 3:29 a.m. CST (0929 GMT) and redocked the Soyuz 
to the Earthward-facing port on the Zarya Control Module at 3:53 a.m. 
CST (0953 GMT).

The relocation of the Soyuz allows Chiao and Sharipov to use Pirs as the 
airlock for their two spacewalks. They will install science experiments 
and hardware on the outside of the ISS. They will also prepare the Space 
Station for the arrival of the Automated Transfer Vehicle.

On the ground, Russian officials announced new dates for the launch and 
docking of the ISS Progress 16 spacecraft. The Progress will launch from 
Kazakhstan on Dec. 23 at 4:19 p.m. CST (2219 GMT) and arrive at the ISS 
at 6:05 p.m. CST Dec. 25 (0005 GMT Dec. 26). The cargo ship currently 
attached the Station, Progress 15, is slated to undock Dec. 22 at 1:34 
p.m. CST (1934 GMT).

International Space Station Status Report No. 64 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-64.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home