[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 STATUS - 29 NOVEMBER 2004



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A./C #31468

* Expedition 10 Relocates Soyuz 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-64.html>*
The Expedition 10 crewmembers successfully relocated a Soyuz spacecraft 
at the International Space Station this morning, setting the stage for 
their upcoming spacewalks.

Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov left the 
Station unoccupied as they flew aboard the Soyuz. Sharipov, who served 
as the Soyuz commander, sent commands to undock the Russian spacecraft 
from the Stationís Pirs Docking Compartment at 3:29 a.m. CST (0929 GMT). 
He redocked the Soyuz to the Earthward-facing port on the Zarya Control 
Module at 3:53 a.m. CST (0953 GMT).

Chiao and Sharipov will re-enter the Space Station after the completion 
of a series of leak checks and then return ISS systems to normal 
operations. Station systems were set for autonomous operations while the 
duo was in the Soyuz.

The relocation of the Soyuz allows Chiao and Sharipov to use Pirs as the 
airlock for their two spacewalks. They will install science experiments 
and hardware on the outside of the ISS. The will also prepare the Space 
Station for the arrival of the Automated Transfer Vehicle.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home