[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 STATUS 24 NOVEMBER 2004



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Soyuz Relocation Preps Continue; Expedition 10 to Have Quiet Thanksgiving*
Expedition 10 Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan 
Sharipov continued to prepare for their upcoming relocation of the ISS 
Soyuz 9 spacecraft. Wednesday's preparation included a test of the 
thrusters on the Soyuz. With the exception of one thruster that did not 
work properly, everything went as expected. Experts are analyzing that 
thruster's performance, but it will have no impact on the relocation 
maneuver or future Soyuz operations.

Chiao and Sharipov will briefly leave the ISS on Monday to relocate the 
spacecraft. Sharipov, who is the crew's Soyuz commander, will undock the 
spacecraft from the Pirs Docking compartment and redock it to a port on 
the Zarya Control Module. It will clear Pirs for use during Expedition 
10's upcoming spacewalks. The Soyuz is slated to undock at 3:29 a.m. CST 
(0929 GMT) and redock at 4 a.m. CST (1000 GMT). NASA TV 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html> will begin its 
coverage 
<http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2004/nov/HQ_m04189_station_move.html> 
of the relocation at 3 a.m. CST (0900 GMT).

In other activities Wednesday, Expedition 10 performed routine 
maintenance on spacewalk equipment and prepared the ISS Progress 15 for 
undocking next month.

Chiao and Sharipov will enjoy an off-duty day for Thanksgiving. The 
holiday menu will include packaged smoked turkey.

International Space Station Status Report No. 62 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-62.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home