[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 STATUS 23 NOVEMBER 2004



Submitted by Arthur N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 10 Prepares for Soyuz Relocation*
In addition to working with science experiments and performing routine 
maintenance Tuesday, the Expedition 10 crew prepared for next week's 
Soyuz spacecraft maneuver.

On Nov. 29, Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov 
will briefly leave the ISS during a maneuver to relocate the ISS Soyuz 9 
spacecraft. Sharipov, who is the crew's Soyuz commander, will undock the 
spacecraft from the Pirs Docking compartment and redock it to a port on 
the Zarya Control Module. It will clear Pirs for use during Expedition 
10's upcoming spacewalks. The Soyuz is slated to undock at 3:29 a.m. CST 
(0929 GMT) and redock at 4 a.m. CST (1000 GMT). NASA TV 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html> will begin its 
coverage 
<http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2004/nov/HQ_m04189_station_move.html> 
of the relocation at 3 a.m. CST (0900 GMT).

Tuesday's preparations included communications checks with NASA ground 
stations in the United States.

In other activities Tuesday, Chiao cleaned a filter on the autonomous 
Protein Crystal Growth Single-locker Thermal Enclosure System 
<http://www1.msfc.nasa.gov/NEWSROOM/background/facts/pcgstet.html>. This 
scientific hardware has been operating for more than 727 days. Chiao 
also participated in a fitness evaluation.

Sharipov conducted routine maintenance on the ventilation system in the 
Station's Russian segment. He also recharged the battery in the Soyuz's 
satellite phone.

International Space Station Status Report No. 62 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-62.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home