[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Expedition 9 Returns to Earth



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 9 Returns to Earth 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-58.html>*
The ISS Soyuz 8 spacecraft carrying Expedition 9 Commander Gennady 
Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike Fincke landed safely in 
Kazakhstan at 7:36 p.m. CDT Saturday (0036 GMT Sunday), ending their 
six-month mission to the International Space Station. Also returning to 
Earth with Expedition 9 was Russian Space Forces Test Cosmonaut Yuri 
Shargin, who arrived at the ISS on Oct. 15 with Expedition 10 Commander 
Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov, the Stationís new 
resident crew.

Before leaving the Station earlier in the day, the trio bid farewell to 
Chiao and Sharipov. Expedition 10 officially took command of the ISS 
from Expedition 9 when the hatches between the Soyuz and Station were 
closed at 1 p.m. CDT (1800 GMT) Saturday.

During Padalka and Finckeís stay at the Station, they performed four 
spacewalks, continued ISS science operations and maintained Station 
systems. Shargin conducted science experiments during his eight days at 
the international outpost.

Meanwhile, Chiao and Sharipov are in the early stages of their tour of 
duty on the Space Station. They will spend the next six months 
continuing ISS science operations and maintaining Station systems. They 
will also prepare the Station for the Space Shuttle's Return to Flight 
and conduct two spacewalks.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home