[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 9 READIES FOR DEPARTURE FROM ISS



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 9 Readies for Departure From Space Station*
With their time aboard the International Space Station down to only a 
few days, Expedition 9 Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS Science 
Officer Mike Fincke continued handover activities with their 
replacements -- Expedition 10 Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer 
Salizhan Sharipov -- and prepared for their return to Earth.

Expedition 9, along with Russian Space Forces Test Cosmonaut Yuri 
Shargin, are scheduled to leave the Station and return to Earth this 
weekend aboard the ISS Soyuz 8 spacecraft -- the same ship that 
delivered Padalka and Fincke to the ISS in April. Undocking is set for 
4:08 p.m. CDT (2108 GMT) Saturday and landing is scheduled for 7:36 p.m. 
CDT Saturday (0036 GMT Sunday) in Kazakhstan.

Shargin arrived with Chiao and Sharipov and is spending his days at the 
Station conducting science experiments.

Friday, the two crews will hold a change of command ceremony aboard the 
Station. The event is slated to begin at 10:13 a.m. CDT (1513 GMT) and 
will be covered by NASA TV 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html>.

However, Chiao and Sharipov will officially take charge of Station 
operations on Saturday when Expedition 9 enters the Soyuz and the 
hatches are closed for the final time at about 1 p.m. CDT (1800 GMT). 
Check out NASA TV's schedule 
<http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/MM_NTV_Breaking.html> for 
Saturday's coverage air times.

International Space Station Status Report No. 57 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-57.html>
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home