[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 10 ARRIVES AT ISS



Submitted by Arthur -N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 10 Arrives at ISS 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-57.html>*
The International Space Station's newest residents -- Expedition 10 
Commander Leroy Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov -- arrived 
at 11:16 p.m. CDT Friday (0416 GMT Saturday) when their Soyuz spacecraft 
docked with the Station's Pirs Docking Compartment. Sharipov, who serves 
as the Soyuz commander, docked the spaceraft manually after the 
automatic system had a problem.

Also arriving on the ISS Soyuz 9 spacecraft was Russian Space Forces 
Test Cosmonaut Yuri Shargin. Expedition 10 launched from Baikonur 
Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 11:06 p.m. CDT Wednesday (0406 GMT Thursday).

After the completion of leak checks, Chiao, Sharipov and Shargin entered 
the Station for the first time, where they were greeted by Expedition 9 
Commander Gennady Padalka and Flight Engineer Mike Fincke. Over an 
eight-day period, the two crews will conduct handover activities and 
joint operations, which include briefings on ISS systems and maintenance 
and work with scientific experiments on the orbiting laboratory. 
Meanwhile, Shargin will conduct scientific experiments.

The arrival of Expedition 10 signals the final leg of Expedition 9's 
six-month stay on the Station. Padalka and Fincke will end their tour of 
duty at the ISS on Oct. 23 and return to Earth aboard the ISS Soyuz 8 
spacecraft with Shargin.

Chiao and Sharipov will take formal command of the Station on Oct. 23 
when the hatches between ISS Soyuz 8 and the ISS prior to Expedition 9's 
departure.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home