[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 9/10 STATUS 12 OCT 2004



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Expedition 10 to Begin Journey to Station Wednesday*
The Expedition 9 crew pressed ahead Tuesday aboard the International 
Space Station with a full workload as Expedition 10 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp10/index.html> launch 
preparations continued on the ground. Expedition 10 Commander Leroy 
Chiao and Flight Engineer Salizhan Sharipov are scheduled to launch from 
Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan atop the ISS Soyuz 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/soyuz/index.html> 
9 spacecraft at 10:06 p.m. CDT Wednesday (0306 GMT Thursday). After a 
two-day chase, the Soyuz will dock with the Station at 11:25 p.m. CDT 
Friday (0425 GMT Saturday).

Russian Space Forces Test Cosmonaut Yuri Shargin will travel to the 
Station with Expedition 10 and return to Earth with Expedition 9.

Expedition 9 Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike 
Fincke worked with science experiments and performed maintenance Tuesday 
aboard the Station. Fincke worked on a hose clamp modification in the 
Quest Airlock 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/airlock/index.html>. 
Padalka participated in a Russian biomedical experiment that is studying 
the long-term effects of space flight.

Fincke also prepared equipment for the trip aboard the ISS Soyuz 8 
spacecraft. Expedition 9 and Shargin are slated to undock from the ISS 
and land in Kazakhstan on Oct. 23 (CDT).

NASA TV <http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html>'s 
coverage of the Expedition 10 launch begins at 9:15 p.m. CDT Wednesday 
(0215 GMT Thursday). Docking coverage starts at 10:30 p.m. CDT Friday 
(0330 GMT Saturday).

Expedition 9/10 Crew Exchange NASA TV Schedule 
<http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2004/oct/HQ_n04161_exp10nasatv.html>.

International Space Station Status Report No. 55 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-55.html>.

*Oct. 4 Briefing Materials:*

    * Expedition 9 Science Recap
      <http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp9/science_briefing/index.html>
    * Expedition 10 Research Briefing
      <http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp10/research_briefing/index.html>

Expedition 10 Press Kit 
<http://www.shuttlepresskit.com/EXPEDITION10/index.htm>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home