[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 9 TO GO SPACEWALKING FRIDAY SEPT. 3RD, 2004



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Station Crew Looks Into Eye of Storm; *To Go Spacewalking Friday **
On the day before their fourth and final scheduled spacewalk, Expedition 
9 Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike Fincke 
wrapped up final preparations and took more imagery of dangerous 
Hurricane Frances.

Padalka and Fincke are slated to begin the spacewalk at 11:50 a.m. CDT 
(1650 GMT) Friday and conclude it about 5:45 p.m. CDT (2245 GMT). Their 
objectives include installing three antennas on the exterior of the 
Zvezda Service Module 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/sm/index.html> 
that will aid the automated docking of a new Station supply craft, the 
European Automated Transfer Vehicle, set to arrive next year. Other 
tasks include replacement of a pump panel on the Zarya module that is 
part of the Russian segment's cooling system; installation of guides for 
spacesuit tethers on Zarya handrails; and the installation of handrail 
covers near the Pirs Docking Compartment 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/pirs/index.html> 
hatch.

NASA TV <http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html>'s 
coverage starting at 10:30 a.m. CDT (1530 GMT).

* *Throughout the week, the Expedition 9 crew and external ISS cameras 
have captured still images and video of Hurricane Frances as it has 
marched westward in the Atlantic Ocean. New imagery 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp9/frances/index.html> and 
video, including pictures of looking into Frances' eye, were taken 
Thursday and downlinked to the ISS Mission Control Center in Houston. 
Frances, which was packing 145 mph (233 kilometers per hour) winds at 10 
a.m. CDT (1500 GMT) Thursday, is forecast to make landfall on the 
eastern Florida coast this weekend, possibly affecting Kennedy Space 
Center. Visit the National Hurricane Center's Web site 
<http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/> for the latest information on Frances.

More Hurricane Frances imagery 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/gallery/images/station/crew-9/inflight/ndxpage16.html> 
is available in the Gallery and the most recent video footage of the 
storm can be seen on NASA TV's Video File.

International Space Station Status Report No. 49 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-49.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home