[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Exp 9 Status 31 August 2004



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Spacewalk Preps Continue*
Expedition 9 Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike 
Fincke reviewed the timeline and prepared tools Wednesday for their 
upcoming spacewalk. They also participated in pre-spacewalk medical checks.

Padalka and Fincke are slated to conduct the fourth spacewalk of their 
six-month mission Friday. The spacewalk is slated to begin at 11:50 a.m. 
CDT (1650 GMT), with NASA TV 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html>'s coverage 
starting at 10:30 a.m. CDT (1530 GMT).

The spacewalk's objectives include installing three antennas on the 
exterior of the Zvezda Service Module 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/sm/index.html> 
that will aid the automated docking of a new Station supply craft, the 
European Automated Transfer Vehicle, set to arrive next year. Other 
tasks include replacement of a pump panel on the Zarya module that is 
part of the Russian segment's cooling system; installation of guides for 
spacesuit tethers on Zarya handrails; and the installation of handrail 
covers near the Pirs Docking Compartment 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/pirs/index.html> 
hatch.

*ISS Provides Hurricane Observations
*Throughout the week, the Expedition 9 crew and external ISS cameras 
have captured still images and video of Hurricane Frances as it has 
marched westward in the Atlantic Ocean. New imagery 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/crew/exp9/frances/index.html> and 
video were taken Wednesday and downlinked to the ISS Mission Control 
Center in Houston. Frances, which was packing 140 mph (225 kilometers 
per hour) winds at 1 p.m. CDT (1800 GMT) Wednesday, is forecast to make 
landfall on the eastern Florida coast later this week, possibly 
affecting Kennedy Space Center. Visit the National Hurricane Center's 
Web site <http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/> for the latest information on Frances.

More Hurricane Frances imagery 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/gallery/images/station/crew-9/inflight/ndxpage16.html> 
is available in the Gallery and the most recent video footage of the 
storm can be seen on NASA TV's Video File.

International Space Station Status Report No. 49 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-49.html>.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home