[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 9 STATUS 26 AUG 2004



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat A/C #31468

* Progress Raises Station's Orbit; Crew Continues Spacewalk Preps*
While the Expedition 9 crew slept, Russian flight controllers commanded 
the engines on the ISS Progress 15 cargo ship to fire, raising the 
International Space Station's orbit about 2.6 miles (4.2 kilometers). 
This was the second reboost maneuver in a week and it leaves the Station 
near the desired orbit for the arrival of the Expedition 10 crew aboard 
the Soyuz TMA-5 spacecraft in October.

After they woke up Thursday, Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS 
Science Officer Mike Fincke tackled a full work schedule. They continued 
preparations for their upcoming spacewalk. They are slated to conduct 
the spacewalk Sept. 3, beginning at 11:50 a.m. CDT (1650 GMT). NASA TV's 
coverage of the excursion begins at 10:30 a.m. CDT (1530 GMT).

In addition to monitoring ISS systems and conducting their daily 
exercise, Padalka and Fincke performed routine maintenance on the 
Russian ventilation system. Padalka also replaced three smoke detectors 
in the Pirs Docking Compartment.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home