[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Crew Prepares for Thursday's Spacewalk



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat #31468

* Crew Prepares for Thursday's Spacewalk*
Expedition 9 Commander Gennady Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike 
Fincke were informed this morning that their first spacewalk will take 
place Thursday. The 6-hour excursion is scheduled to begin at 4:50 p.m. 
CDT (2150 GMT), with NASA TV 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/realdata/nasatv/index.html>'s coverage 
starting at 3:30 p.m. CDT (2030 GMT).

The spacewalk's objective is to recover operation of Control Moment Gyro 
(CMG) No. 2. The failure of a Remote Power Controller resulted in the 
temporary loss of the CMG in April. The gyro is one of four that control 
the ISS' orientation. The spacewalk will be based out of the Pirs 
Docking Compartment 
<http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/station/assembly/elements/pirs/index.html>. 
CMG No. 1 failed about 2 years ago.

Last week, Fincke became the first U.S. astronaut to celebrate the birth 
of a child <http://www.nasa.gov/vision/space/features/fincke_baby.html> 
while in orbit. His wife Renita gave birth to a baby girl in Clear Lake, 
Texas, on June 18. The NASA astronaut celebrated Tarali Paulina Fincke's 
birth with his crewmate, Commander Gennady Padalka, aboard the 
International Space Station.

*Fincke Calls SpaceShipOne Flight 'Fantastic'* 
<http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2004/jun/HQ_04200_spaceshipone.html>

*NASA Administrator Lauds Successful Human Space Flight* 
<http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2004/jun/HQ_04199_ok_spaceship1.html>


----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home