[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Progress 13 Leaves ISS




    Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat #31468


*Progress 13 Leaves ISS; Expedition 9 to Conduct Spacewalk in Orlans
*The ISS Progress </station/assembly/elements/progress/index.html> 13 
cargo ship departed from the International Space Station on Monday and 
attention turns to the arrival of Progress 14 later this week. Progress 
13 undocked from the aft end of the Station's Zvezda Service Module 
</station/assembly/elements/fgb/index.html> at 4:19 a.m. CDT (0919 GMT). 
The cargo vessel contains discarded items from the Station. Progress 13 
will remain in orbit for 10 days so Russian flight controllers can 
evaluate its motion control system and methods to conserve propellant 
for future Progresses before it is commanded to burn up in Earth's 
atmosphere.

Progress 14 is slated to launch from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan 
at 7:34 a.m. CDT (1234 GMT) Tuesday. It will chase the ISS for two days 
before it docks at 8:55 a.m. CDT (1355 GMT) Thursday. Progress 14's 
cargo includes 3,000 pounds of food, fuel and supplies. NASA TV 
</realdata/nasatv/index.html> will provide coverage of the docking 
beginning at 8 a.m. CDT (1300 GMT).

Over the weekend on the ISS, Expedition 9 Commander Gennady Padalka and 
NASA ISS Science Officer Mike Fincke performed troubleshooting on a 
cooling system in a U.S. spacesuit, called an Extravehicular Mobility 
Unit </station/eva/spacesuit.html>. The efforts were unsuccessful.

Station Program managers decided Monday that the upcoming spacewalk to 
replace the failed Remote Power Controller Module on the S0 Truss 
</station/assembly/elements/its/index.html#starboard> will take place no 
earlier than June 16 in Russian Orlan spacesuits. The spacewalk will be 
based out of the Pirs Docking Compartment, which is attached to the 
Earth-facing port on Zvezda.

International Space Station Status Report No. 26 
</spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-26.html>.




----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home