[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Expedition 8 to Leave ISS, Return Home Thursday



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat #31468

*Expedition 8 to Leave ISS, Return Home Thursday*
Expedition 8 Commander Michael Foale and Flight Engineer Alexander 
Kaleri are set to end their six-month stay at the International Space 
Station. Wednesday was their last full day on the orbital outpost, where 
they continued handover activities with Expedition 9 Commander Gennady 
Padalka and NASA ISS Science Officer Mike Fincke.

Expedition 8 and European Space Agency (ESA) Astronaut André Kuipers 
will exit the ISS and enter the ISS Soyuz 7 spacecraft before the 
hatches are closed between the two ships at 12:39 p.m. CDT (1739 GMT). 
Hatch closure will mark the official handover of ISS operations from 
Expedition 8 to Expedition 9.

The Soyuz is slated to undock at 3:52 p.m. CDT (2052 GMT) and land in 
Kazakhstan at 7:12 p.m. Thursday (0012 GMT Friday).

Wednesday's other activities on the ISS included packing items in the 
Soyuz. Also, Kuipers who flew to the Station under an agreement between 
ESA and Russia's Federal Space Agency, continued to work with science 
experiments.

*NASA TV </realdata/nasatv/> *
Check out NASA TV's schedule </spacenews/releases/2004/N04-050.html> for 
coverage of upcoming ISS activities.



----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home