[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 8 Crew Conducts Experiments




    Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC - Amsat #31468


*ISS Crew Conducts Experiments*
It was full speed ahead with science experiments Thursday aboard the 
International Space Station. Expedition 8 Flight Engineer Alexander 
Kaleri participated in a Russian medical experiment before the crew's 
breakfast. Commander Michael Foale assisted him during the session.

Later in the day, Kaleri collected samples for a Russian experiment that 
is studying biodegradation. He collected samples in predetermined 
locations in the Zvezda Service Module 
</station/assembly/elements/sm/index.html> and the Pirs Docking 
Compartment </station/assembly/elements/pirs/index.html>.

Foale conducted Expedition 8's final session with the Hand Posture 
Analysis investigation. This experiment is studying changes in the human 
body's upper limbs during space flight. Foale wore a glove fitted with 
sensors that measure muscle activity as he went about his workday.

Expedition 8's replacement crew, Expedition 9, is preparing for its 
journey to the Station. Expedition 9 is slated to launch from Baikonur 
Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 10:19 p.m. CDT Sunday (0319 GMT Monday) and 
arrive at the Station at 12:04 a.m. CDT (0504 GMT) Wednesday. The two 
crews will conduct joint operations and handover activities until 
Expedition 8 leaves the ISS on April 29.

NASA TV </realdata/nasatv/index.html>'s launch coverage begins at 9:30 
p.m. Sunday (0230 GMT Monday).

Check out NASA TV's schedule </spacenews/releases/2004/N04-050.html> for 
coverage of upcoming ISS activities




----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home