[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Expedition 8 Space Walk Concludes Early




    Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC


*Expedition 8 Space Walk Concludes Early 
</spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-11.html>
*Russian officials cut short Expedition 8's spacewalk 
</station/crew/exp8/eva/index.html> Thursday due to a cooling system 
problem in one of the Orlan spacesuits. The extravehicular activity came 
to an end at 7:12 p.m. CST Thursday (0112 GMT Friday).

Commander Michael Foale and Flight Engineer Alexander Kaleri completed 
about 60 percent of their scheduled tasks.

Initial indications are that a kink in a tube in Kaleri's liquid cooling 
garment prevented the flow of water through the suit. The kink was 
discovered after the two entered the Station. It was straightened out 
and water began to flow normally in Kaleri's suit.

Completed tasks included the installation of the Matryoshka, which will 
provide data on radiation exposure to the human body during space flight.

They removed one panel and relocated another for the Japanese Aerospace 
and Exploration Agency's MPAC-SEEDS experiment. This experiment is 
studying micro-meteor impacts.

They also installed cassettes for an experiment studying the effect that 
the harsh environment of space has on materials.

Among the tasks not completed was the retrieval of a set of 
retroreflectors from the aft end of the Zvezda Service Module. Retrieval 
of the retroreflectors would assist the preparation of navigational data 
for next year's maiden arrival of a new European supply ship.

Also, the spacewalkers did not complete the replacement of the Kromka 
thruster residue experiment.

The spacewalk began at 3:17 p.m. CST (2117 GMT) and lasted 3 hours and 
55 minutes.




----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home