[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

PROGRESS 12 LEAVES ISS




    Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC


*Progress 12 Leaves ISS*
The Progress </station/assembly/elements/progress/index.html> 12 
undocked from the aft end of the International Space Station's Zvezda 
Service Module </station/assembly/elements/sm/index.html> today at 2:36 
a.m. CST (0836 GMT). The Progress, which was filled with trash, was 
commanded to deorbit at 7:11 a.m. CST (1311 GMT) and re-entered the 
Earth's atmosphere at 7:46 a.m. CST (1346 GMT) to burn up.

Progress 12's departure sets the stage for the arrival of the Progress 
13 cargo ship. The new Progress will launch from Baikonur Cosmodrome, 
Kazakhstan, at 5:58 a.m. CST (1158 GMT) Thursday and dock to the aft end 
of Zvezda at 7:18 a.m. CST (1318 GMT) Saturday. The new cargo ship will 
deliver fresh food, clothes, spare parts and other equipment to the ISS.

Tuesday, the Expedition 8 crewmembers took a break from their busy 
schedule to talk to National Football League Commissioner Paul Tagliabue 
<http://www.nasa.gov/vision/space/features/NFL_visit.html>, who was at 
the Mission Control Center in Houston, Texas. They talked about life in 
space, the view from orbit and football.

Tagliabue is in Houston for Super Bowl XXXVIII, which will be held 
Sunday. The STS-107 crewmembers -- who perished when Space Shuttle 
Columbia broke up during re-entry on Feb. 1, 2003 -- will be honored 
during the Super Bowl's pre-game tribute.

*NASA TV*
NASA TV </realdata/nasatv/index.html> will provide live coverage 
</spacenews/releases/2004/N04-014.html> of Progress 13's arrival at the 
Station beginning at 6:30 a.m. CST (1230 GMT) Saturday.,
j
JAN 31,2004




----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home