[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Expedition 8 Preps for Progress 12 Undocking




    Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC


*Expedition 8 Preps for Progress 12 Undocking 
</spacenews/reports/issreports/2004/iss04-5.html>*
Expedition 8 Commander Michael Foale and Flight Engineer Alexander 
Kaleri began their week with the completion of the air pressure 
fluctuation tests, during which they spent last weekend confined to the 
Zvezda Service Module </station/assembly/elements/sm/index.html>. 
Hatches were closed to divide the Station into four sections. The 
crewmembers emerged from Zvezda shortly before their sleep period began 
Sunday.

The tests revealed no new leaks and the ISS' air pressure has remained 
steady since the removal of a leaky vent hose two weeks ago. The vent 
hose, which was associated with the Earth observation window in the 
Destiny Laboratory Module </station/assembly/elements/uslab/index.html>, 
was responsible for a slight decay in ISS pressure that began in 
mid-December.

Throughout the workweek, Foale and Kaleri prepared for the Progress 
</station/assembly/elements/progress/index.html> 12 cargo ship's 
departure from the Station. They loaded the Progress with unneeded 
items. The cargo ship will be commanded to undock from the aft end of 
the Zvezda at 2:33 a.m. CST (0833 GMT) Jan. 28. Then, the unmanned cargo 
ship will be commanded to burn up in Earth's atmosphere.

The departure of Progress 12 will set the stage for the arrival of 
Progress 13, which is slated to launch from Baikonur Cosmodrome, 
Kazakhstan, Jan. 29 at 5:58 a.m. CST (1158 GMT). The new cargo ship is 
scheduled to dock to the aft end of the Zvezda Service Module on Jan. 31 
at 7:18 a.m. CST (1318 GMT). Progress 13 will deliver fresh food, 
clothes, spare parts and other equipment to the ISS.

In other activities during the week, Kaleri replaced a telemetry unit on 
the Elektron oxygen generation system, and Foale filled out the weekly 
food questionnaire. Both crewmembers participated in Russian medical 
assessments.




----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home