[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EXP 7 LEAVING-EXP 8 ARRIVING



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

With less than a month left in their tour of duty aboard the
International Space Station, the Expedition 7 crewmembers spent time
during the workweek preparing for their departure and the arrival of the
Expedition 8 crew. 

Expedition 7 Commander Yuri Malenchenko and NASA ISS Science Officer Ed
Lu conducted a fit check of the custom-made seatliners that they will
sit in as they travel back to Earth aboard the ISS Soyuz 6 spacecraft.
Malenchenko and Lu are slated to undock from the Station at 5:20 p.m.
CST (2320 GMT) Oct. 27 and land in Kazakhstan at 8:36 p.m. CST Oct. 27
(0236 GMT Oct. 28). 

At Baikonur Cosmodrome, the Expedition 8 crew -- Commander Michael Foale
and Flight Engineeer Alexander Kaleri -- and European Space Agency
Astronaut Pedro Duque also conducted seatliner checks for their trip to
the Station, which is scheduled to begin at 12:37 a.m. CDT (0537 GMT)
Oct. 18. They will arrive at the orbital outpost Oct. 20 at 2:20 a.m.
CDT (0720 GMT). Foale and Kaleri will remain on the Station for about
six months, and Duque will return to Earth with Expedition 7. 

Also, the two crews had a teleconference Friday to discuss upcoming
handover activities and joint operations. 

On the science front, Lu prepared for upcoming work with the In Space
Soldering Investigation. This experiment's objective is to provide
information for future ISS assembly and maintenance work.


----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home