[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

ISS WAITING FOR SUPPLY SHIP



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

Progress 11 to Begin Journey to Station Sunday
The next spacecraft scheduled to visit the International Space Station
will launch Sunday from Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan. The Progress 11
cargo ship will carry about 2,404 kilograms (5,300 pounds) of supplies
to the orbital outpost. Progress 11 is slated to lift off at 5:34 a.m.
CDT (1034 GMT), and it is scheduled to link up with the orbital
outpost's Pirs Docking Compartment at 6:17 a.m. CDT (1117 GMT) June 11.

During the week, Expedition 7 Commander Yuri Malenchenko and NASA ISS
Science Officer Ed Lu prepared for the arrival of the cargo ship by
rearranging items in Pirs. Malenchenko also tested a backup system on
the ISS.

In other activities throughout the week, Lu conducted sessions with the
Investigating the Structure of Paramagnetic Aggregates from Colloidal
Emulsions, or InSPACE, experiment in the Microgravity Science Glovebox.
InSPACE is a fluid materials experiment studying how very small
individual particles that are magnetizable respond to a magnetic field
that is repeatedly turned on and off. Both crewmembers practiced
operating the Station's robotic arm, Canadarm2.

Saturday, Malenchenko and Lu will calibrate and refocus external cameras
aboard the Station in preparation for the arrival of Space Shuttles. The
cameras could be used to inspect Space Shuttles when they are docked to
the ISS.

NASA TV will begin coverage of Progress 11's docking at 5:30 a.m. CDT
(1030 GMT) June 11.

----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home