[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Second Spacewalk Under Way



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

Second Spacewalk Under Way
Mission Specialists Michael Lopez-Alegria and John Herrington began
STS-113's second spacewalk at 12:36 p.m. CST (1836 GMT) today. Their work
is focussed on activating and outfitting the P1 (P-One) Truss, which was
installed onto the International Space Station on Tuesday. Their tasks
include connecting fluid lines from the P1 Truss to the S0 (S-Zero)
Truss, relocating launch restraints and relocating a Crew Equipment
Translation Aid handcar from the P1 to the S1 (S-One) Truss. They are
also scheduled to install the second Wireless video system External
Transceiver Assembly that will be used to support helmet camera
communications from future spacewalkers.

STS-113 Commander Jim Wetherbee and Pilot Paul Lockhart are providing
support to the Thanksgiving Day spacewalkers. Wetherbee is operating
Space Shuttle Endeavour's robot arm, and Lockhart is coordinating
spacewalk activities. Also, NASA Science Officers Peggy Whitson and Don
Pettit are at the controls of the station's robot arm. The spacewalk is
the 23rd spacewalk based out of the station and is scheduled to end about
7 p.m. CST today (0100 GMT Friday).

________________________________________________________________
Sign Up for Juno Platinum Internet Access Today
Only $9.95 per month!
Visit www.juno.com
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home