[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

EVA #2 COMPLETED -



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

EVA COMPLETED

Wolf, Sellers Complete Second Spacewalk at Space Station
Astronauts Piers Sellers and David Wolf concluded STS-112's second space
walk at the International Space Station at 3:35 p.m. CDT (2035 GMT)
today. The primary objective was to continue outfitting and activating
the station's newest component, the S1 (S-One) Truss. They installed
Spool Positioning Devices to prevent pressure buildup in line fittings;
connected cooling system lines; and removed launch restraints from a
radiator that will be deployed Sunday. They also installed a camera
system on the Destiny Laboratory Module. 

STS-112 Pilot Pam Melroy coordinated the spacewalk, and STS-112 Mission
Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson
operated the station's robotic arm. The spacewalk lasted 6 hours, 4
minutes. The third spacewalk is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT (1441
GMT) Monday.

Prior to the start of the spacewalk, Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam
Melroy fired Space Shuttle Atlantis' engines to raise orbit of the
station.

________________________________________________________________
GET INTERNET ACCESS FROM JUNO!
Juno offers FREE or PREMIUM Internet access for less!
Join Juno today!  For your FREE software, visit:
http://dl.www.juno.com/get/web/.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home