[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

STS-111 STATUS REPORT - PM 6/17/2002



Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

Bad Weather Forces Landing Delay; STS-111 to Try Again Tuesday
Flight controllers waved off STS-111ís two landing attempts for today due
to predicted thunderstorms at Kennedy Space Center, Fla. Space Shuttle
Endeavour has two attempts available on Tuesday at Kennedy. The first is
at 10:55 a.m. CDT (1555 GMT), and the second is at 12:31 p.m. CDT (1731
GMT). Tuesday's weather forecast calls for a chance of thunderstorms in
the Kennedy Space Center area. Forecasters and flight controllers will
continue to monitor the situation. Also, two landing opportunities --
2:02 p.m. CDT (1902 GMT) and 3:38 p.m. CDT (2038 GMT) -- are available at
Edwards Air Force Base, Calif., on Tuesday.

When Endeavour lands, it will mark the end of a successful mission to the
International Space Station and Expedition Four's return home. STS-111
delivered the Expedition Five crew and the Mobile Base System, or MBS, to
the station. It also carried the Leonardo Multi-Purpose Logistics Module,
which contained supplies and equipment for the new ISS crew. The STS-111
crew performed three spacewalks to assist in the installation of the MBS
and to do some maintenance work on the station.

________________________________________________________________
GET INTERNET ACCESS FROM JUNO!
Juno offers FREE or PREMIUM Internet access for less!
Join Juno today!  For your FREE software, visit:
http://dl.www.juno.com/get/web/.
----
Via the sarex mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe sarex" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home