[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Fwd: Viewfinders Notice 2005-03: Dramatic Tsunami Photo



Note: forwarded message attached.
X-Apparently-To: kd6v@sbcglobal.net via 206.190.37.179; Wed, 12 Jan 2005
  23:11:30 -0800
Authentication-Results: mta812.mail.yahoo.com from=sbcglobal.net;
  domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
X-Originating-IP: [206.190.37.176]
Return-Path: <roytake@sbcglobal.net>
Received: from 207.115.57.52  (EHLO ylpvm21.prodigy.net) (207.115.57.52)
  by mta812.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 12 Jan 2005 23:11:29 -0800
X-Originating-IP: [206.190.37.176]
Received: from web81203.mail.yahoo.com (web81203.mail.yahoo.com
  [206.190.37.176]) by ylpvm21.prodigy.net (8.12.10 083104/8.12.10) with
  SMTP id j0D78F3f015239 for <kd6v@sbcglobal.net>; Thu, 13 Jan 2005
  02:08:15 -0500
Received: from [68.122.193.105] by web81203.mail.yahoo.com via HTTP;
  Wed, 12 Jan 2005 23:11:28 PST
Date: Wed, 12 Jan 2005 23:11:28 -0800 (PST)
From: Roy Takeuchi <roytake@sbcglobal.net>
Subject: Fwd: Viewfinders Notice 2005-03: Dramatic Tsunami Photo
To: MinMarg Tsujimoto <minandmarg@aol.com>, Roy Takeuchi
  <roytake@sbcglobal.net>, Anne Hall <anniehall@hotmail.com>,
  "Doug.Ellen Takeuchi" <dtakeuchi@mindspring.com>, Jeff Takeuchi
  <jtake3561@aol.com>, Michelle Takeuchi <Michelle.Takeuchi@xilinx.com>,
  Chloe Takeuchi <clodagh_takeuchi@yahoo.com>, CHUCK KINKEY
  <kd6v@sbcglobal.net>, Rev Mariellen Sawada Yoshino
  <mariellen@wesleysj.net>, Tsukamoto Mari <mtsuka3@hotmail.com>, Elaine
  Ando <eando@earthlink.net>, Hiroko Hara <hhara@milbergweiss.com>,
  Takashi Okabe <dartak4687@sbcglobal.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Length: 49784
X-Converted-To-Plain-Text: from multipart/mixed by demime 1.01d
X-Converted-To-Plain-Text: Alternative section used was multipart/alternative

We have seen some video and photo images of the force of the tsunami, but this one really shows the awesome force of the tsunami....don't like to pass on much of "pass along" email one receives, but this one is worth viewing.  Be well.
 
Roy

Note: forwarded message attached.
X-Apparently-To: roytake@sbcglobal.net via 206.190.37.177; Wed, 12 Jan
  2005 20:48:07 -0800
Authentication-Results: mta822.mail.sc5.yahoo.com from=sbcglobal.net;
  domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
X-Originating-IP: [66.163.170.82]
Return-Path: <rpcp2003@sbcglobal.net>
Received: from 207.115.57.35  (EHLO ylpvm04.prodigy.net) (207.115.57.35)
  by mta822.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 12 Jan 2005 20:48:06
  -0800
X-Originating-IP: [66.163.170.82]
Received: from smtp812.mail.sc5.yahoo.com (smtp812.mail.sc5.yahoo.com
  [66.163.170.82]) by ylpvm04.prodigy.net (8.12.10 083104/8.12.10) with
  SMTP id j0D4maWE011200 for <roytake@sbcglobal.net>; Wed, 12 Jan 2005
  23:48:36 -0500
Received: from unknown (HELO ?68.124.16.198?)
  (rpcp2003@sbcglobal.net@68.124.16.198 with plain) by
  smtp812.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; 13 Jan 2005 04:48:01 -0000
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Apple Message framework v619)
To: Bowen Doerr <shark436@cs.com>, Ramon Jimenez <ramon@jimenez.net>,
  Jim Fitzgerald <jpfitz@sbcglobal.net>, Jim Flick
  <flickizaki@yahoo.com>, Julius Kurtz <jrkurtz@aol.com>, Teri Silvestri
  <terisil@juno.com>, Glenn Tokunaga <glennt@yahoo-inc.com>, Chris
  Valentino <chrisvalentino@mac.com>, Stan Poncetta <stanpon@aol.com>,
  Walter Bruning <wbruning@cox.net>, Robert Hardin
  <hooray4@sbcglobal.net>, Frank Valentino <stupormundi@aol.com>, Bette
  Rupp <barupp@netstorm.net>, Gayle Van Horne <ponnc@earthlink.net>, Kim
  Anderson <creative_soul@sbcglobal.net>, norma/art lorenz
  <normaandart@yahoo.com>, John Sphar <jsphar@pacbell.net>, Hal and
  Terry Beers <halandterrybeers@aol.com>, edmund nunes
  <edgin2@earthlink.net>, June Aversante <EmeraldNo1@aol.com>, Felita
  Brennan <felitabrennan@sbcglobal.net>, Beverly Natale
  <natale@localnet.com>, Gladys Koke <oriska1@aol.com>, Ernie Piini
  <ewpiini@aol.com>, Phyliss Tuckwiler <Tuckwiler@aol.com>, ReligiousEd
  <religioused@qofa.org>, Mary Trumbull <maryt@qofa.org>,
  SVotaw5867@aol.com, Roy Takeuchi <roytake@sbcglobal.net>, Fred Pfost
  <FPFOST@aol.com>, Peggy pugh <peggypugh@verizon.net>, Sandy  Rains
  <sandyrains@sbcglobal.net>, Bernie Woods <Bernard291@aol.com>, Wes
  Alles <walles@stanford.edu>, "Teresa P. Rupp" <rupp@msmary.edu>, Al
  Biedrzycki <abiedr@comcast.net>, Ted Biagini <Tjbiagini@aol.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
From: Richard Pugh <rpcp2003@sbcglobal.net>
Subject: Fwd: Viewfinders Notice 2005-03: Dramatic Tsunami Photo
Date: Wed, 12 Jan 2005 08:48:57 -0800
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.619)
Content-Length: 48115
X-Converted-To-Plain-Text: from multipart/mixed by demime 1.01d
X-Converted-To-Plain-Text: Alternative section used was multipart/alternative

Hi, everyone,

The photo  at the end of this email is absolutely astounding.

Richard

Begin forwarded message:

> From: Frank Swanson <frank_video@swansonhome.com>
> Date: January 12, 2005 7:46:31 PM PST
> To: Viewfinders-Members@ylpvm18.prodigy.net
> Subject: Viewfinders Notice 2005-03: Dramatic Tsunami Photo
>
> Hi Everyone,
>
> Received this photo of the Tsunami just about to hit the city of
> Phuket, Thailand.
> The friend of mine who sent it to me said:
>
> "I have received some tsunami satellite photos, etc.
> This photo of the wave about to drown Phuket is the
> only one of the tsunami videos and photos I have seen
> which clearly shows its awesome power.
>
> Anyone in those vehicles looking out the window
> towards the ocean would have to be terrified. It
> appears that the tops of the approximately 15-story
> buildings are close to horizontal line of sight with
> the top of the 500 miles per hour wave. I can now
> exactly understand how the tsunami carried buses and
> cars as much as two miles inland."
>
>
> This photo was taken from a high rise building window in downtown
> Phuket, Thailand.   It is published on the website of the Lion Clubs of
> Australia, and was forwarded to me by a friend.
>  
> The power of nature is hard to comprehend, especially the terrible
> destructiveness of water, until you see a photo such as this.
>
> -- Frank Swanson
>  
>  

[demime 1.01d removed an attachment of type image/jpeg which had a name of Phuket Thailand.jpg]
----
Sent via amsat-bb@amsat.org. Opinions expressed are those of the author.
Not an AMSAT member? Join now to support the amateur satellite program!
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe amsat-bb" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home