[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] - [Date Index][Thread Index][Author Index]

Space-Weather-Advisory



Author: daemon@sec.noaa.gov
Date:       11/9/00 7:20 AM


Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER BULLETIN #00- 11
2000 November 09 at 12:20 a.m. MST (2000 November 09 0720 UT)

**** **** SEVERE SOLAR RADIATION STORM **** ****

A severe solar radiation storm began today, 8 November, at 4:50 p.m. MST
(2350 UT), and has reached a level of S4 on the NOAA Space Weather
Scales.  The storm, which currently ranks as the fourth largest since
1976, is expected to peak over the course of the next several hours and
then slowly diminish over the next three to four days.

This severe radiation storm could pose a hazard to the astronauts on the
International Space Station as well as passengers on commercial
airlines flying at high latitudes.  The storm could also adversely
effect the operation of satellites.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC's Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127.  The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at bmcgehan@boulder.noaa.gov or (303) 497-6288.


----
Via the amsat-bb mailing list at AMSAT.ORG courtesy of AMSAT-NA.
To unsubscribe, send "unsubscribe amsat-bb" to Majordomo@amsat.org



AMSAT Top AMSAT Home